Softball Travels to St. Pete/Clearwater Invitational

This entry was posted in News on by .

BATON ROUGE, La. ‘ The No. 8/7 LSU softball team hits the road for the first time in 2019, heading to Clearwater, Florida for the inaugural St. Pete/Clearwater Invitational.

The complete details. Was first published.

The Tigers take on Top 25 opponents in No. 20/17 Oklahoma St. (4-1), No. 19/22 Oregon (5-0), No. 11/12 Texas (4-0), No. RV/23 Ohio St. (3-1) and No. 1/2 Florida St. (5-0). Four of the five games will stream and air live on the ESPN family of networks. ‘

The Tigers kicked off the season last week and put together a total of 73 runs in six games, the most runs in any six-game stretch in program history. The Tigers got a stellar performance from sophomore’Shelbi Sunseri, who hit .636 with a 1.909 slugging percentage to go along with four home runs, 14 RBI, 21 total bases, two shutouts and a 0.00 earned run average.

While you’re here, how about this:

Inaugural St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational Presented by Wilson Begins ESPN’s Road to the Women’s College World Series

Softball season is upon us, and the road to the 2019 Women’s College World Series on ESPN begins with the inaugural St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational Presented by Wilson. ESPN Events’ first owned and operated softball tournament will be held at the Eddie C. Moore Complex in Clearwater, Fla., February 14-17, 2019. Of the 39 games that comprise the invitational, 25 will be available across ESPN2, ESPNU, SEC Network and ESPN3. As previously announced, there are 16 teams participating in the invitational and all 16 participating teams will be showcased at least once.

Ten of the participating teams in the invitational are ranked Softball Collegiate Top 25 Pre-Season Poll: Reigning national champions No. 3 Florida State, No. 4 Oklahoma, No. 8 Tennessee, No. 10 LSU, No. 15 Kentucky, No. 16 Texas, No. 21 Oklahoma State, No. 22 James Madison, No. 23 Minnesota, and No. 24 Ohio State. Rounding out the field are California, Florida Atlantic University, Hofstra, Notre Dame, Oregon, and Utah.